Skip to main content

The most widely used framework for controlling and managing the provision of IT services globally is the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL). ITIL is an example of a service lifecycle model that supports certain procedures and actions during the planning, implementation, improvement, and maintenance of IT administrations.

 IT services are defined in this discussion as IT activities that provide end users, customers, and other internal or external stakeholders with commercial value. Unified corporate email and corporate websites that rely on back-end IT procedures like network and server administration are examples of IT services. The most recent ITIL version is V3.

By using the ITIL system, organisations may ensure that their services are provided in accordance with a set of clear, well-defined, consistent, and reliable procedures that include best practises and processes and produce the degree of service that clients can reasonably expect.

A lower service development and deployment costs are one of the benefits of ITIL foundation certification. Additional improvements in customer loyalty and satisfaction with service delivery, increased IT staff productivity and efficiency, quality improvements, improved service management metrics, and more adaptability and flexibility in modifying services to shifting business requirements are all desirable outcomes.

ITIL Certification Program Overview

Axelos takes up the ITIL responsibilities in July 2013. Currently, it approves training and assessment centres and follows the ITIL structure. There are several ITIL Accredited Training Organisations (ATOs) available to provide training, and ITIL certification exams may be governed by an Examination Institute (EI), many of which work directly with the ATOs, at the conclusion of a training course or by them.

 ITIL foundation course offers certification levels:

  • Foundation
  • Practitioner
  • Intermediate
  • Expert
  • Master

You should be aware that ITIL uses a credit system for the Foundation through Expert levels, with each certificate earning a certain amount of credits. Finally, 22 credits are required to get ITIL Expert certification.

What Is ITIL?

See how the ITIL IT service framework is structured and what it offers before reading on for certification specifics.

 As many standardised best practises for IT services were being used in government organisations at the time, the Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency (CCTA) of the United Kingdom government created ITIL at first. Since its nascent, narrowly focused beginnings, ITIL has been adopted, updated, and expanded into a comprehensive framework for overseeing the provision of IT services in enterprises and organisations of all sizes and in all industries.

IT now plays a vital role in delivering mission-critical services to businesses that rely on sophisticated computing assets to function and generate revenue. Organisations may define and implement an archived, repeatable cycle using ITIL, which helps them stay focused on the big and little details of implementing new IT services and maintaining those services over time by sprintzeal.

 Five practise areas or stages make up the ITIL service lifecycle, and each step has accompanying standards, rules, and procedures:

Service Transition: This phase includes testing and quality control as well as the progression of work from improvement to production.

Service Methodology: This phase focuses on defining services as strategic resources, followed by maintaining and implementing an aware, cognizant system. Service method standards ensure that the company is structured and geared for service improvement by addressing business processes, corporate administration and compliance, strategies, corporate culture, and decision-making.

Service Design: In order to develop and promote new service offerings or enhance current contributions, this phase includes the appraisal and assessment of company management procedures (service level, accessibility, capacity, and so on).

Continuous Service Improvement: This phase of the ITIL model defines new requirements for the earlier stages based on functional, operational input, and service levels. It helps to ensure that methods are used as intended, service level agreements are met, and operational lessons learned are integrated into current and upcoming service assistance improvements.

 Service Operation: This stage outlines how to manage products and services once they are in use in production. It offers operational metrics like help desk support, event management, incident response, access management, and application life cycle.     

The ITIL framework provides businesses with the structure and discipline they need to configure, design, produce, deploy, and manage new or improved services in the best possible manner and, in particular, on a limited budget.

Prior to the implementation of ITIL, a lack of service management discipline led to many IT projects suffering from cost overruns, deviating from their original path, or failing completely due to errors, scope creep, and a lack of repeatable results. These problems are amicably addressed by ITIL, and ITIL is widely recognised as the de facto standard for IT service management frameworks.

ITIL Foundation Certification

The most common place for newcomers to begin studying ITIL and obtaining certification is with the ITIL Foundation certification, which covers the ITIL fundamentals. Anyone interested in the topic may take the test, and there are no restrictions for the certificate.

 You may prepare for the ITIL Foundation certification exam through self-study, online courses, or classroom settings. Before taking the Foundations test, you are not required to complete a course of study. The Foundation test consists of 40 multiple-choice questions that must be answered in one hour. To pass, you must have a score of 65 percent, or 26 right answers.

The certification includes linking the usual life-cycle stages as well as the five ITIL service life-cycle practise areas. If an IT genius completes the ITIL Foundation course level, he or she will likely need to pass the Practitioner or Intermediate exams before being able to apply for roles in service management.

 ITIL-Related Jobs And Careers

Large businesses that have adopted the ITIL framework as an internal IT standard routinely hold IT professionals with an ITIL certification in high regard. Many small- and medium-sized businesses respect personnel who have obtained several ITIL certificates equally.


By earning an ITIL certification, you can demonstrate your proficiency in IT service management and enhance your professional credibility. You will also gain a competitive edge in the job market as many organizations prioritize hiring ITIL certified professionals.

Leave a Reply

Close Menu

Wow look at this!

This is an optional, highly
customizable off canvas area.

About Salient

The Castle
Unit 345
2500 Castle Dr
Manhattan, NY

T: +216 (0)40 3629 4753
E: [email protected]